Flying Boomerangs and World Team announced

Written by Leyla Kaya.

The 2017 Rio Tinto Flying Boomerangs and World Team squads have been announced.

The two teams of 25 teenage boys were selected by AFL Club recruiters based on their school attendance, leadership skills, and football displayed during this week’s National Diversity Championships.

The Flying Boomerangs is a personal development and leadership program for young men aged 14-16 years old with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander backgrounds. Similarly, the World Team consists of the most promising multicultural players from across the country.

“These are more than just programs, we are now preparing the next generation of young leaders and footballers with the skills, qualities, and experiences to become positive role models amongst their own families and within their broader communities,” AFL General Manager Game Development, Andrew Dillon said.

The Rio Tinto Flying Boomerangs and the World Team will compete at the 2017 NAB AFL Under-16 Championships being held in July.

2017 Rio Tinto Flying Boomerangs squad:
Wesley Clark (NSW/ACT), David Whyman (NSW/ACT), Djaidah Miller (NSW/ACT), Kevin Canendo (QLD), Kynan Kenny (SA), Aiden Holland (SA), Callum Saunders (SA), Sage Tapner (VIC), Jamarra Ugle-Hagan (VIC), Wil Dwyer (VIC), Deekyn Smith (VIC), Kobi George (VIC), Joel Jeffery (NT), Brodie Lake (NT), Tyrrell Lui (NT), Anthony Rose (NT), Clarence Baird (NT), Roy George (WA), Tyreese Bynder (WA), Jordon Kickett (WA), Zek Bolton (WA), Michael Mallard (WA), Isiah Winder (WA), Reece Gerrand (WA), Ira Jetta (WA), Tyler Brockman (WA).

2017 World Team squad:
Timothy Organ (NSW/ACT), Jamie Murphy (NSW/ACT), James Rene (NSW/ACT), Connor Hungerford (NSW/ACT), Alex Davies (QLD), Josh Blair (QLD), Marcell Hawash (QLD), Clay Daley (QLD), William Hayley (TAS), Jayden Applebee (TAS), Oliver Burrows-Cheng (TAS), Ajay Hem (SA), Diing Akur (SA), George Heintze (SA), Lam Simon (SA), Ruben Carreno (SA), Nixzon Santillo (SA), Siddarth Rajesh (VIC), Regan Uwandu (VIC), Compton Fiafua (VIC), Joey Keam (VIC), Chris Walker (WA), Brendan Walker (WA), Manfred Pati (WA), Joel Western (WA), Keanu Haddow (WA).