Six locals make Rio Tinto Flying Boomerangs and World Teams

The final day of the 2018 AFL National Diversity Championships played out in Blacktown today, with two Grand Finals taking place.

Victoria took home the All Nations Championship, beating out Tasmania in a heart-stopper. In the Kickstart Cup, another close match ensued with Western Australia claiming their eighth straight Kickstart Cup trophy over South Australia.

Following the two matches, the Most Valuable players from each state and territory were announced. Kai Watts took out the AFL NSW/ACT Kickstart MVP Award, while Thomas Sase was awarded the All Nations MVP.

The much-anticipated announcement of the national representative teams also came during the closing ceremony.

Making the World Team from AFL NSW/ACT were, Thomas Sase, Harry Wichman, Oliver Kozak and William Sabolch. Kai Watts and Hunter McAuliffe were also named as a part of the 2018 Rio Tinto Flying Boomerangs squad.

AFL NSW/ACT would like to congratulate the All Nations and Kickstart teams who competed in the 2018 AFL National Diversity Championships this week. Each player represented the blue and gold, their cultures and their families with respect and pride. We are extremely proud of your efforts.

Keep up-to-date with all AFL NSW/ACT related news by following us on FacebookInstagram and Twitter