Toyota Good for Footy Gear grant open!

The Toyota Good For Footy Gear Grant program is back for the third-season running, with 100 female football teams around the country to benefit from funding to supply brand new, specially designed uniforms.

Applications are now open and will be closing in late January, so clubs are urged to get their applications in for the $1,600 grant by explaining ‘why their team is worthy of kit that fits’ here.

Women and girls football participation has exploded in the last five years since the inception of AFLW. In 2016, there were around 950 community teams for women and girls playing Australian football. Today, there are more than 2500 community teams for women and girls across the country.

The 2022 edition of the gear grants, which is part of Toyota’s continued support for the game through the Good for Footy program, will take the number of clubs to have benefited from the funding to 300. Clubs have shared in $320,000 of funding from Toyota over the past two years.

Toyota Good for Footy Round will be held again in both the NAB AFLW competition (Round Six) and Toyota AFL Premiership seasons in 2022.

John Pappas, Chief Marketing Officer, Toyota Australia said: “Toyota Australia has been a long-time supporter of community football and for the third season running, the Good for Footy Gear Grants Program will help women and girls around Australia get the right gear to play the game they love.

“Every year female participation is becoming more popular at the community level, but it’s not always possible for female teams to play in their own kit. For clubs, having access to initiatives like Toyota’s Good for Footy Gear Grant program encourages teams to play at their best.

“We’re looking forward to seeing this season’s entries from community clubs across Australia, giving female teams a chance to qualify for a $1,600 gear grant and make footy better for all.”


In 2021, the following clubs from NSW and the ACT received a Toyota Good For Footy Gear grant:

• Molonglo Juggernauts Football Club Inc (AFL Canberra) 

• Weston Creek Wildcats Junior Australian Football Club (AFL NSW/ACT) 

• Woden Blues AFC Inc. (AFL Canberra) 

• Sydney University Sport and Fitness Limited (AFL Sydney) 

• Shoalhaven Giants Junior AFL Club (AFL South Coast) 

• Cowra Australian Rules Football Club (AFL Central West) 

• Bega Bombers Football Club (Sapphire Coast AFL) 

• Camden and District AFL Club (AFL Sydney) 

• Central Broken Hill Football Club (AFL Broken Hill) 

• Port Kembla Australian Football Club (AFL NSW/ACT) 

• Ballina Australian Football Club (QFAW) 

• Bathurst Giants Australian Rules Football Club (AFL Central West) 

• Lismore Swans Junior Australian Football Club (AFL Queensland Juniors, Metro South Clubs) 

• Miranda Australian Football Club (AFL Sydney Juniors) 


Photo Copyright DC Sports Photography