NSW’s fab four star in Hawthorn’s Grand Final victory

Hawthorn's (L-R) Luke Breust Taylor Duryea, Matthew Suckling and Isaac Smith celebrate their victory after the 2015 Toyota AFL Grand Final.(Photo by Greg Ford/AFL Media)

Saturday afternoon’s AFL Grand Final saw four New South Wales players help Hawthorn to became only the fifth team in history to claim an historic ‘three-peat’,

Luke Breust, Taylor Duryea, Isaac Smith and Matt Suckling were all a part of the Hawthorn team which dismantled West Coast by 46 points at the MCG.

Isaac Smith especially played a pivotal part and on another day may have taken out the Norm Smith medal after kicking three goals from 23 possessions on a wing.

Smith’s hard-running and long kicking cut apart the Eagles time and again as the Riverina local claimed his third straight premiership.

Two highlight reel goals, one a 55m bomb and the other a dribble from the pocket, capped off a near perfect day for the left-footer.

The other member of the NSW foursome to claim a third straight flag was Temora’s Luke Breust.

Breust racked up nine disposals in the first quarter before being well held by the Eagles defence to finish with 18 touches.

Taylor Duryea backed up a big Preliminary Final by keeping dangerous Eagles Mark LeCras and Luke Shuey quiet, while also picking up 26 touches for himself.

The former Murray Bushranger claimed his second consecutive premiership after missing out on the Hawks’ 2013 triumph.

Saturday also saw Matt Suckling receive his second premiership medallion.

After starting in the sub vest the Wagga junior came on in the third quarter, immediately impacting with a snapped goal.

The four Hawks missed only a handful of games between them on their way to the premiership, a fantastic achievement for football in New South Wales.