Senior schools revved up for finals

The next week and a half will provide some memorable moments for top Year 10-12 football teams across the state and territory, with AFL NSW/ACT’s Senior Schools Cup and Senior Schools Plate finals held in Tuggerah and Lavington.


Senior Schools Cup

The Cup is the premier high school competition, with established footy regions’ top performing schools from local qualifying rounds facing off in the finals.

The girls’ Senior School Cup will take place on 15 June, with the schools below going toe to toe to see who will be crowned our state’s best:

  • ACT – Daramalan College
  • MIA – St Francis De Sales Regional College
  • Syd Independent – Pymble Ladies College
  • Riverina – Kildare Catholic College
  • Albury – Xavier High School


The boys’ Senior School Cup will be played later in the year. However, the top regional qualifiers will play at Lavington on 20 June. Whoever wins that competition will play the best team from Sydney’s strong Independent Schools Competition to see who is the best senior school football team in NSW and the ACT.

Schools involved in the regional final are:

  • ACT – Erindale College
  • MIA / Western – St Francis De Sales Regional College
  • Albury – Albury High School
  • Riverina – Kildare Catholic College


Senior School Cup Finals Fixtures

SSC Girls State Final (Tuggerah 15 June)

SSC Boys Regional Final (Lavington 20 June)

Senior Schools Plate

The Plate is a new competition in 2023, giving schools from emerging footy regions an opportunity to compete against similarly experienced sides. These regions are northern NSW, Hunter, Central Coast, South Coast and Central West (which did not field a team in 2023).

Boys and girls’ Plate finals will be on 15 June in Tuggerah, with each team playing one another once, with the top team declared the winners.

The girls schools involved in the State Plate are:

  • NNSW – Bishop Druitt College
  • Hunter – Tomaree High School
  • Central Coast – St Peters Catholic College 
  • South Coast – Endeavour Sports High 
  • Fixtures for the Senior Schools State Plate finals are below:


The boys schools involved in the State Plate are:

  • NNSW – MacKillop College
  • Hunter – Hunter Sports High School
  • Central Coast – St Edwards College 
  • South Coast – Edmund Rice College 


State Plate Fixtures (Tuggerah 15 June)

Watch the Senior Schools finals live!

AFL NSW/ACT has partnered with Kommunity TV to bring each match from the Senior Schools finals live and available on replay. Visit to subscribe and livestream. 

More information on the livestream available on this flyer.