GIANTS Captain Coniglio Joins Competition Committee

GIANTS captain Stephen Coniglio has been added to the AFL’s Competition Committee on the eve of the 2020 Toyota AFL Premiership season.

Coniglio will join Head of Competition Management Rob Auld and Competition Evolution Manager Brad Scott as additions to the committee that includes some of the competition’s most well-known figures.

Formed in 2018, the Competition Committee’s role is to guide discussion around decision-making for the AFL Commission and AFL Executive on key aspects of the future direction of the AFL Competition.

It’s the first time that the GIANTS have had a representative on the Competition Committee which is chaired by AFL General Manager Football Operations Steve Hocking.

“Stephen is an outstanding leader of his club and a genuine role model of our game, and we look forward to his contribution as a member of the Competition Committee,” Mr Hocking said.

“An impressive footballer on the field, Stephen works equally hard off the field to progress the game at all levels and was last year recognised for this service by being awarded the Jim Stynes Community Leadership Award.

“Stephen’s passion and commitment to promote Australian Football in Western Sydney is truly impressive and his unique insights in this space will be of great value to the Committee.”

“I look forward to the first Competition Committee meeting of the year where the primary focus remains on advancing the game while protecting its heritage.”

The Competition Committee for 2020 comprises:

Colin Carter (Geelong Cats), Eddie McGuire (Collingwood), Peggy O’Neal (Richmond), Andrew Ireland (Sydney Swans), Andrew Fagan (Adelaide Crows), Justin Reeves (Hawthorn), Chris Fagan (Brisbane Lions), Chris Davies (Port Adelaide), Craig Vozzo (West Coast Eagles), Patrick Dangerfield (AFLPA President / Geelong Cats), Stephen Coniglio (GIANTS), Brett Murphy (General Manager Player and Stakeholder Relations), Steve Hocking (General Manager – Football Operations, chair), Jason Ball (AFL Commissioner), Nicole Livingstone (AFLW Head of Football), Kylie Rogers (General Manager – Commercial), Rob Auld (Head of Competition Management), Brad Scott (Competition Evolution Manager).

Head of Competition Management Rob Auld and Competition Evolution Manager Brad Scott have been added to the Committee as AFL representatives.

Keep up-to-date with all AFL NSW/ACT related news by following us on FacebookInstagram and Twitter.