Carey-Bunton Medal Votes Round 2

Following on from the resounding success of 2019’s selection of the NSW Greatest Team Ever, the NSW AFL History Society  last year launched two new annual awards to recognise the best player in the AFL and the selection of a State of Origin team from players in the AFL.

The winner of the NSW Player of the Year award will receive the Carey – Bunton Medal that honours the two greatest players of all time from NSW.

The votes of the AFL coaches is highly respected and will provide a credible and valid voting system to determine the winner. Each coach votes on a 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 basis after each home and away game and the votes are aggregated.

The Carey-Bunton Medal is given to the highest placed New South Wales player in the AFLCA Champion Player of the Year award, with previous winners including Brett Kirk, Lenny Hayes, Taylor Walker, Kieran Jack, Zac Williams and Tom Hawkins in 2020.

Votes after Round 2 are:

18 Taylor Walker (North Broken Hill) – Adelaide Crows

10 Callum Mills (Mosman) – Sydney Swans

9 Errol Gulden (UNSW-Eastern Suburbs) – Sydney Swans

5 Jacob Hopper (Leeton-Whitton) – GWS Giants

5 Braeden Campbell (Pennant Hills) – Sydney Swans

5 Lachie Schultz (Moama) – Fremantle

4 Isaac Heeney (Cardiff) – Sydney Swans

3 Matthew Flynn (Narrandera) – GWS Giants

3 Harry Perryman (Collingullie) – GWS Giants

2 Jarrad Witts (Sydney University) – Gold Coast

2 Tom Hawkins (Finley) – Geelong

1 Harry Cunningham (Turvey Park) – Sydney Swans