Three major ins for GIANTS ahead of final Academy Series match


As the fifth and final round of the 2018 NAB AFL Academy Series, this weekend’s matches will act as the last opportunity for players to show off their skills ahead of Allies selection next week.

Coming off their only loss of the season last weekend against Tasmania, the Sydney Swans Academy will return to Blacktown to face the Gold Coast Suns Academy.

Rory Barkley is a big name missing from the Swans’ team list this week, having succumbed to a hamstring injury. Having been a feature of the Swans move into the forward line this year, Barkley’s absence has the potential to be costly for the home side.

Backs 14. Kyle Martin 38. Michael Carroll 10. Connor Flanagan
Half Backs 33. Kyle McKellar 40. Joshua Rayner 32. Luke Parks
Centres 17. Dominic Soffee 24. Sam Wicks 29. Nicholas Brewer
Half Forwards 23. Cooper Kilpatrick 3. Nicholas Blakey 21. Jordan Adams
Forwards 34. Rory Barkley 36. Joey Reinhard 28. Jackson Barling
Ruck 1. Zachary Cameron 16. Joshua Stern 20. Samuel Thorne
Interchange 2. Christian Loone 11. Harry Parker 25. Lachlan Swaney
31. Noah Casalini
Emergencies 15. Tom Meacham


The GIANTS Academy have flown to Kingston today, to take on Tasmania on Saturday.

Having toppled the previously undefeated Swans Academy last week, the Tasmanians could prove a tough outfit to defeat for the GIANTS who have not secured a win since Round One.

After what has been a tough Series for the GIANTS following a plethora of injuries, GIANTS fans will be pleased to hear of the return of Cameron Edwards and NAB AFL Academy members, Liam Delahunty and Mathew Walker for this match.

Backs 15. Jack Adamson 30. Baylee Jones 18. Ryan Allen
Half Backs 27. Guy Richardson 49. Daniel Foley 14. Shaun Driscoll
Centres 22. Tyh Evans 25. Tom Green 45. William Clark
Half Forwards 23. Mathew Walker 26. Liam Delahunty 10. James Peatling
Fowards 46. Joshua Buchanan 31. Riley Corbett 6. Rhys Pollock
Followers 34. Kieren Briggs 21. Max Beaumont 2. Ed Perryman
Interchange 12. Lachlan Squire 47. James Pope 4. Cameron Edwards
1. Harry Grant 28. Matthew McGrory
Emergencies 33. Michael Driscoll 19. Isaac Williams


Keep up-to-date with all AFL NSW/ACT related news by following us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.