NSW/ACT’s 2023 Toyota AFL Volunteers of the Year announced

AFL NSW/ACT is proud to announce the state and territory’s 12 Toyota AFL Volunteers of the Year for 2023.

These outstanding footy people were selected from a record number of nominations received by AFL NSW/ACT.

Each of the NSW/ACT winners are eligible to become the national winner for their category. National winners receive a three-night package to attend the 2023 Toyota AFL Grand Final and one deserving volunteer will win a new Toyota Hilux valued at $61,000.

Head of AFL NSW/ACT, Tiffany Robertson, said: “Volunteers are the heartbeat of our football community and each of these amazing winners here have proven themselves deeply committed to their clubs, schools and community football groups.

“Congratulations to all the winners and thank you, on behalf of everyone involved in AFL in NSW and the ACT, for all you have done to enhance footy in this region.

“I also want to thank everyone who nominated a volunteer for these accolades. We received a record number of nominations in 2023 and taking the time to call out the hard work and determination of someone at your club, school or footy ground that consistently goes over and above. 

“As the winter season draws to a close, we thank the thousands of volunteers involved each weekend in our football ecosystem.”

NSW/ACT volunteers of the year receive a certificate of appreciation and a $200 e-gift.

More information about the Toyota AFL National Volunteer Awards can be found here.


NSW/ACT’s 2023 Toyota AFL Volunteers of the Year

Toyota AFL Community VolunteerCarissa EmblingPort Macquarie MagpiesAFL North CoastFor enhancing the club’s governance, operations, sponsorship and inclusivity outcomes.
Young Leader of the YearShelby NewtonCardiff HawksAFL Hunter Central CoastFor inspiring, guiding and enhancing the experience for youth girls and Indigenous participants in AFL Hunter Central Coast.
Community Club of the YearMaroubra SaintsAFL Sydney JuniorsAchieving outstanding growth in girls playing and women as coaches and committee representatives.
NAB AFL Auskick VolunteerGarret GoringMangoplah Cookardinia United EastlakesAFL RiverinaFor creating a positive, organised Auskick environment and being instrumental in setting up the first girls only Auskick program in Wagga.
AFL Disability Inclusion VolunteerJulie ChardFor initiating and leading the development of the Club Kickability Guide and assisting several clubs set-up a Kickability program.
AFL Community Umpiring ServiceRod ChetwyndAFL North CoastFor an outstanding contribution to umpiring and fostering improvement and growth in the local umpiring group.
AFL Community Coach of the Year – MaleStephen BenjaminMaroubra SaintsAFL Sydney JuniorsFor playing coaching roles with U7, U9 and U10 teams and encouraging improvement and a love of football at all ages.
AFL Community Coach of the Year – FemaleTracy JedrzejewskiWollondilly KnightsAFL SydneyFor playing a major role in rebuilding the senior women’s playing group following several disrupted years.
AFL School Teacher of the Year – MaleSamuel NolteEndeavour Sports HighCaringbahFor working hard to get kids involved in football at school, playing many roles to get them to competition and performing well.
AFL School Teacher of the Year – FemaleTanya CrosswellWahroonga Public SchoolHornsby Primary School Sports AssociationFor managing the Hornsby PSSA competition to include 15 schools who play weekly, dividing them into developing and experienced schools to ensure an even competition.
AFL National Community Football Media AwardEdwina ColquhounWestern Suburbs MagpiesAFL Sydney JuniorsFor redesigning the club’s website, and for managing social media and club communications.
AFL National Community Football Photography AwardSimone HarmerTurvey Park BulldogsAFL RiverinaFor long term dedication for photographing Turvey Park matches and advising other clubs across AFL Riverina on how to manage social media.