Barr, Collier and Farrugia, named in Western Bulldogs squad

NSW/ACT women’s players’, Nicola Barr (Sydney University), Maddy Collier (UNSW/ES) and Amanda Farrugia (Macquarie University) have been named in the Western Bulldogs squad for the final AFL women’s series exhibition match.

WOMEN’S football will be showcased under lights at Whitten Oval for the first time later this season when the Western Bulldogs host Melbourne.

The Bulldogs and Demons will battle for the Hampson-Hardeman Cup in the 10th and final AFL women’s series exhibition game of the year, on Saturday, September 3, from 7.20pm.

The best women from every state will represent the two teams in prime time as part of the AFL’s Celebration of Football week in between round 23 and the first week of the final series.

Scouts for the eight women’s clubs in next season’s national women’s league will be eager to check out Australia’s elite talent prior to state-based drafts later this year ahead of the first year of the AFL’s women’s league competition.

AFL game and market development general manager Simon Lethlean said the All-Star format would be a feature of the Celebration of Football concept.

“This stand-alone women’s match will showcase the best players on the eve of the inaugural national women’s competition,” Lethlean said.

“I encourage all footy fans to attend the match or watch the coverage to see the women’s exciting brand of football. With this in mind, gates will be open free to all fans to enjoy a night at the football.”

The Dogs and Dees are playing for a cup named in recognition of female football pioneers Barb Hampson and Lisa Hardeman, who developed the first women’s championships in 1998. Victoria, Western Australia, South Australia and the ACT took part in that inaugural carnival.

Western Bulldogs CEO David Stevenson said the match is “the culmination of four years amplifying women’s football alongside Melbourne and the AFL and we are looking forward to celebrating it accordingly”.

Melbourne CEO Peter Jackson said the game would be “a great showpiece for women’s football”, with the club taking “great pride” in its history of supporting women and girls playing football.

The match will be broadcast live by the Seven Network nationally and will also be streamed on

A youth girls’ match will be played as a curtain raiser, while fans can enjoy a kick on the ground after the main game.



Lauren Arnell (Darebin Falcons, VIC), Kaitlyn Ashmore (Melbourne University, VIC), Nicola Barr (Sydney University, NSW), Emily Bates (Yeronga South, QLD), Libby Birch (Darebin Falcons, VIC), Katie Brennan (Darebin Falcons, VIC), Tayla Bresland (Peel Thunderbirds, WA), Nicole Callinan (Darebin Falcons, VIC), Steph Chiocci (Diamond Creek, VIC), Maddy Collier (UNSW/ES, NSW), Richelle Cranston (Geelong VIC), Brianna Davey (St Kilda Sharks, VIC), Kimberley Ebb, (Seaford Tigers, VIC), Amanda Farrugia (Macquarie University, NSW), Renee Forth (Coastal Titans, WA), Elyse Gamble (Burnie Dockers, TAS), Moana Hope (St Kilda Sharks, VIC), Emma Humphries (Burnie Dockers, TAS), Meg Hutchins (Eastern Devils, VIC), Bianca Jakkobson (Cranbourne, VIC), Leah Kaslar (Coolangatta, QLD), Emma Kearney (Melbourne University, VIC), Beth Kearney (Eastern Devils, VIC), Maddy Keryk (Melbourne University, VIC), Emma King (Coastal Titans, WA), Norieuk Kinross (Geelong Magpies, VIC), Melissa Kuys (Knox, VIC), Jaimee Lambert (Eastern Devils, VIC), Rebecca Privitelli (Eastern Devils, VIC), Pepa Randall (St Kilda Sharks, VIC), Tahlia Randall (Maroochydore, QLD), Hannah Scott (Eastern Devils, VIC), Nicola Stevens (Melbourne University, VIC), Jessica Trend (Eastern Devils, VIC), Darcy Vescio (Darebin Falcons, VIC), Jess Wuetschner (East Fremantle, WA), Emma Zielke (Queensland University, QLD)

Ebony Antonio (Swan Districts, WA), Ellie Blackburn (Melbourne University, VIC), Kiara Bowers (Coastal Titans, WA), Madeline Boyd (Geelong Magpies, VIC), Jess Cameron (Diamond Creek, VIC), Courtney Cramey (Morphettville, SA), Penny Cula-Reid (St Kilda Sharks, VIC), Jessica Dal Pos (Melbourne University, VIC), Kara Donnellan (Swan Districts, WA), Tiarna Ernst (Diamond Creek, VIC), Alicia Eva (Melbourne University, VIC), Lara Filacamo (Coastal Titans, WA), Angela Foley (Waratahs, NT), Sabrina Frederick-Traub (South Fremantle, WA), Kellie Gibson (Morphettville, SA), Kate Gillespie-Jones (Seaford, VIC), Brianna Green (East Fremantle, WA), Ashleigh Guest (VU Western Spurs, VIC), Tayla Harris (Zillmere, QLD), Melissa Hickey (Darebin Falcons, VIC), Nicole Hildebrand (Melbourne University, VIC), Breanna Koenen (Queensland University, QLD), Brooke Lochland (Montmorency, VIC), Ebony Marinoff (Morphettville, SA), Cecilia McIntosh (Melbourne University, VIC), Hayley Miller (Coastal Titans, WA), Lauren Morecroft (Diamond Creek, VIC), Elise O’Dea (Darebin Falcons, VIC), Karen Paxman (VU Western Spurs, VIC), Daisy Pearce (Darebin Falcons, VIC), Lauren Pearce (Darebin Falcons, VIC), Kira Philips (Peel Thunderbirds, WA), Chelsea Randall (Swan Districts, WA), Emma Swanson (East Fremantle, WA), Tayla Thorn (St Marys, NT), Bree White (VU Western Spurs, VIC), Hayley Wildes (Cranbourne, VIC)

Note the team squads may change with the addition of AFL club marquee players, injury or illness.

The coaching panels are yet to be confirmed.

Originally published on as Women’s match to light up bye round