NSW/ACT guns fired-up for Futures on GF day

Joel Cochran of NSW/ACT (East Sydney Bulldogs) during the AFL U17 Futures Boys match between Vic Metro and NSW/ACT at Avalon Airport Oval on 13 August, 2023


The AFL has today announced the teams to compete in the 2023 AFL Futures match which will be played at the MCG ahead of the 2023 Toyota AFL Grand Final.

The match will feature 45 of the most talented under 17 boys footballers from across the country, with five boys from NSW/ACT playing.

The two teams have been named after former Geelong Cats captain and four-time premiership player Joel Selwood and recently retired West Coast Eagles ruckman Nic Naitanui.

All players named for the sixth annual AFL Futures match are born in 2006 and will be eligible for selection in the 2024 AFL Draft.

The AFL Futures match provides next year’s draft prospects an opportunity to be part of a high-performance environment and showcase their talent on the big stage as they push for selection for the 2024 AFL Academy Boys program.

Players were nominated by state talent programs, national selectors and AFL clubs, with all states and territories represented across the 46-player squad.

AFL National Academy Manager Tarkyn Lockyer said: “The AFL Futures match is a highlight on the AFL Talent calendar and provides football fans an introduction to the talented young players who are about to enter their draft year.

“We are delighted to be able to play the game ahead of the 2023 Toyota AFL Grand Final and provide the opportunity for our young stars from across the country to experience the excitement of being part of the biggest day of the AFL season.”



The 2023 AFL Futures squad will arrive in Melbourne on Friday, September 29.

Players will train at The Hangar on Friday afternoon prior to a team dinner at Mercure Albert Park where they will be addressed by Selwood and Naitanui.

The 2023 AFL Futures match will commence at 9:35am on Saturday, with all squad members to also attend the 2023 AFL Toyota Grand Final between Collingwood and Brisbane Lions.



Sydney Swans Academy coach Mark McVeigh will coach Team Selwood, with assistants to include Mark Brown (Murray Bushrangers), Lauren Morecroft (Eastern Ranges) and Jeromey Webberley (Tasmania Devils).

Victoria Metro under 16 coach Andrew Sturgess will coach Team Naitanui with assistants to include Mitch Hahn (Brisbane Lions Academy), Tony Bamford (South Australia U18) and Mel Hickey (Geelong Falcons).


HOW TO WATCH: The 2023 AFL Futures match will be broadcast live and free on the AFL website and AFL Live Official App.

MEDIA: Media who wish to attend the 2023 AFL Futures match are required to have accreditation to cover the 2023 Toyota AFL Grand Final.

Team Selwood vs. Team Naitanui

Saturday, September 30 at 9:35am

(White jumper)

1LeviAshcroftVIC MSandringham DragonsOld Brighton Grammarians
2LucasCamporealeSAGlenelgBrighton Districts & Old Scholars
3PhoenixHargraveSASouth AdelaideReynella
4JoeHarrisonNSW/ACTSydney Swans AcademyWarners Bay
5TajHottonVIC MSandringham DragonsOld Haileybury
6IsaacKakoVIC MCalder CannonsPascoe Vale
7XavierLindsayVIC CGippsland PowerLeongatha
8ChristianMoraesVIC MEastern RangesGlen Waverley
9MurphyReidVIC MSandringham DragonsSouth Melbourne Districts
10TobieTravagliaVIC CBendigo PioneersSandhurst
11MalakaiChampionWASubiacoMines Rovers
12KadeHerbertSAWoodville-West TorrensBute
13Austinvan der StruyfWAClaremontClaremont
14SamLalorVIC CGWV RebelsBacchus Marsh
15HarveyLangfordVIC CDandenong StingraysMount Martha
16NoahMrazVIC CDandenong StingraysNarre North Foxes
17JoshuaMurphyNSW/ACTMurray BushrangersNorth Albury
18FinnO’SullivanVIC COakleigh ChargersKoroit
19OliverWarburtonVIC CMurray BushrangersShepparton Swans
20JontyFaullVIC CGWV RebelsRedan
27OliverDeanTASTasmania DevilsNorth Launceston
28FlynnPenryVIC CGWV RebelsCobden
29TylerWelshSAWoodville West-TorrensHenley

(Blue and green jumper)

1BenCamporealeSAGlenelgBrighton Districts & Old Scholars
2SidDraperSASouth AdelaideWillunga
3MitchWoodsNSW/ACTSydney Swans AcademyPenshurst
4ClayShadforthNTNT Academy
South Adelaide
5BoAllanWAPeel ThunderHalls Head
7ArcherDay-WicksVIC CBendigo PioneersSandhurst
8LuccaGregoVIC MWestern JetsKeilor
9ZakJohnsonVIC MNorthern KnightsOld Ivanhoe Grammarians
10LeonardoLombardQLDGold Coast Suns AcademyBroadbeach
11SamMarshallQLDBrisbane Lions Academy/
Sandringham Dragons
St Bedes/Mentone
12RickyMenthaNTNT Academy/
Gippsland Power
13JaggaSmithVIC MOakleigh ChargersRichmond
14JoelCochranNSW/ACTSydney Swans AcademyEast Sydney
15TomGrossVIC MOakleigh ChargersOld Trinity Grammarians
16NashKingVIC MCalder CannonsWallan
17HarryO’FarrellVIC MCalder CannonsMaribyrnong Park
18JobeShanahanNSW/ACTBendigo PioneersMoama
19JoshSmillieVIC MEastern RangesPark Orchards
20LukeTrainorVIC MSandringham DragonsOld Brighton Grammarians
21RomeBurgoyneSAWoodville-West TorrentsPort District
27TomLuckSAWoodville-West TorrensCentral Yorke
28TomGillettQLDBrisbane Lions AcademySherwood