Volunteer of the Year recipients announced

AFL NSW/ACT congratulates the nine hardworking volunteers who have been recognised in the AFL NSW/ACT Volunteer of the Year awards for 2021.

Award winners have come from across NSW. From Leeton in the Riverina to Glen Innes in the state’s north, Bathurst in the Central West to metropolitan Sydney.

Each one has played a role in enhancing our game and encouraging others to get involved.

“Well done to all our winners in the Volunteer of the Year awards,” said Tiffany Robertson, Head of AFL NSW/ACT. “Without the efforts of countless volunteers across our code, our game would not be as accessible and enjoyable as what it is today.

“Thank you to everyone who has volunteered in footy over the past season. We have all experienced challenges along the way, but I feel confident our game is in a great position to continue its rapid development in NSW and the ACT.”

Kristy Smith was named Toyota AFL Community Football Volunteer of the Year for NSW/ACT. She has played multiple roles at Balgowlah Suns JAFL since 2015 and been a key factor in its growth, guiding it from fewer than 80 NAB AFL Auskick and U9s players in its inaugural season to more than 450 players across junior age groups in 2021.

Kristy was gracious upon receiving the accolade, saying: “For me, this award is recognition for six years of putting my head down and just doing.

“Like many volunteers, I haven’t fully appreciated the value I’ve actually given to the club until something like this award comes along. I see myself as being one volunteer in a wider community of incredible, passionate people, and loving everything about being there, but I don’t quantify that with anything other than enjoying what I’m doing. I’m really grateful to be part of a great community club.”

Congratulations to all 2021’s AFL NSW/ACT Volunteer of the Year award recipients. AFL NSW/ACT will profile each of our winners in the coming weeks at www.aflnswact.com.au.


Award Category Winner Club
Toyota AFL Community Football Volunteer Kristy Smith Balgowlah Suns JAFL
NAB AFL Auskick Volunteer Andrew Pyman Fairfield Falcons
NSW/ACT Junior Coach Aaron Harvey Glen Innes Celts
NSW/ACT Junior Coach Phil Lane Baulkham Hills Hawks
NSW/ACT Disability Inclusion Volunteer Liz Symes Bathurst Giants
NSW/ACT Diversity Ambassador Ali Abdulatif Bankstown Bullsharks
NSW/ACT Community Umpiring Service Ash Lamb AFL Sapphire Coast Umpires
NSW/ACT Primary School Ambassador Darryl Howe St Gregory’s College, Campbelltown
NSW/ACT Secondary School Ambassador James Sullivan St Francis de Sales Regional College, Leeton