TEAM TALK: NEAFL Preliminary Finals

Image courtesy of NEAFL Media.


It is crunch time as the four best teams of the 2017 NEAFL season do battle for a place in the Grand Final.

The Sydney Swans host the Gold Coast Suns at Blacktown International Sportspark, while Sydney University travels to Brisbane to take on the Lions at the Gabba.

In the first Preliminary Final, the Swans have brought in a number of experienced names as they look to get over the top of the Suns.

Ruckman Sam Naismith returns from injury through the NEAFL and he will be joined by Jordan Dawson who also comes into the side. Sydney Swans Academy members, Jarrod Osborne and Sam Wicks have also earned a start after impressive displays throughout the season.

Jake Brown, Jared Deep and Harrison Carr have all dropped out of the side.

They will be up against a Gold Coast Suns team with 17 AFL-listed players. The Suns will be looking for revenge after a big loss to the Swans only a couple of weeks ago at the SCG.

In the second Preliminary Final, Sydney University remains relatively full strength as they travel to the Gabba to take on the Lions.

The Students very nearly secured second position during the final round of the season, but will now have to make the Grand Final the hard way.

They have only made the one change this week, with Darcy Baron-Hay returning to the side. Baron-Hay was rewarded for his outstanding season so far by being named in the 2017 NEAFL Team of the Season. His defensive work will be a big boost for the Students as they look to keep a very attacking Brisbane Lions outfit quiet.

Nathan Cooper drops out of the side due to illness.

Both matches will be streamed live on NEAFL TV.



Sydney Swans vs. Gold Coast Suns

Date: Saturday, 2 September 2017

Time: 11am

Venue: Blacktown International Sportspark

Entry: $10 for adults (free if under 16 years old)

Watch: Streaming live on NEAFL TV

Live StatsChampion Data stats available on the Official NEAFL App


B: 46. Sam Murray 21. Jack Maibaum 36. Aliir Aliir

HB: 38. Colin O’Riordan 11. Jeremy Laidler 31. Harrison Marsh

C: 27. Daniel Robinson 7. Harry Cunningham 33. Brandon Jack

HF: 30. Tyrone Leonardis 19. Shaun Edwards 45. Sam Fisher

F: 1. James Rose 32. Michael Talia 13. Oliver Florent

Foll: 35. Sam Naismith 34. Jordan Dawson 6. Jordan Foote

Inter: 25. Ben Ronke 2. Alex Johnson 47. Toby Pink 55. Jarrod Osborne 48. Sam Wicks

Emer: N/A

In: 34. Jordan Dawson 35. Sam Naismith 55. Jarrod Osborne 48. Sam Wicks

Out: 50. Jake Brown 51. Jared Deep 52. Harrison Carr (all omitted)

Brisbane Lions vs. Sydney University

Date: Saturday, 2 September 2017

Time: 12pm

Venue: The Gabba

Entry: Free Entry

Watch: Streaming live on NEAFL TV

Live StatsChampion Data stats available on the Official NEAFL App


B: 2. Xavier Richards 38. Darcy Baron-Hay* 35. Ryan Hebron

HB: 24. Tim Barton 44. Tom Derickx 26. Will Sierakowski

C: 43. Jonathan Williams 42. James Brain 10. Mitch Thompson

HF: 1. Jack Hixcox 5. Zac O’Brien 40. Matt Wilson

F: 28. Michael Manteit 9. Jacob Derickx 15. Tom Young

Foll: 22. Sam Tagliabue, 4. Austin Lucy 21. Lewis Stevenson

Inter: 16. Alistair Gillespie 8. Damien Bonney 18. Jack Dimery 3. Tom Ayton 46. James Loneragan

Emer: 31. Lachlan Kilptarick

In: 38. Darcy Baron-Hay

Out: 33. Nathan Cooper (illness)