TEAM TALK: NEAFL R20 – Swans back at the SCG

Image courtesy of NEAFL Media.


The Sydney Swans return to the SCG and Sydney University travel to the nation’s capital to take on the Canberra Demons in Round 20 of the NEAFL.

The Swans suffered only their second loss of the season against the Brisbane Lions last Saturday. In a high-scoring affair, the Lions proved too good, coming out 19-point winners.

Sam Murray suffered an injury in that match and has been ruled out for this week’s clash against the Redland Bombers. Four changes in total see Sydney Swans Academy members, Jared Osborne, Jack Hardman and Sam Wicks come back into the side as the Swans look to bounce back into form ahead of their finals campaign.

A crucial match will take place in Canberra on Saturday afternoon, as the Demons host Sydney University. Both sides are coming off a win in their last start, and will be desperate for that form to continue with finals places on the line.

The Demons lose Nick Pleming and Tom Faul through injury for their match-up against the students. Pleming has been instrumental in the Demons’ strong performances this year, playing 15 matches and adding a lot of experience to the side.

Tom Highmore, Rhys Pollock and Rohan McLachlan return for the Demons, with McLachlan playing only his fourth game for the season after a lengthy injury lay-off.

For the Students, goal sneak Alistair Gillespie has been ruled out through injury along with Jonathan Williams (injured) and Monty Krochmal (omitted). Gillespie has been in good form since his mid-season move to the forward line, forming a good partnership with the likes of Jacob Derickx and Damien Bonney.

Jackson Potter and Kane Murphy come back into the side, as well as Lachlan Kilpatrick. Potter has averaged 15 disposals a game, while Murphy returns for only his fifth game of the season.



SYDNEY SWANS (1st) vs. Redland Bombers (8th) 

Date: Saturday, 12 August 2017

Time: 10.05am

VenueSydney Cricket Ground

Entry: With ticket to Sydney Swans AFL Match

Watch: Streaming live on NEAFL TV

Live StatsChampion Data stats available on the Official NEAFL App


B: 55. Jared Osborne 21. Jack Maibaum 2. Alex Johnson

HB: 36. Aliir Aliir 47. Toby Pink 13. Oliver Florent

C: 50. Jake Brown 7. Harry Cunningham 33. Brandon Jack

HF: 30. Tyrone Leonardis 19. Shaun Edwards 45. Sam Fisher

F: 1. James Rose 49. Jack Hardman 48. Sam Wicks

Foll: 32. Michael Talia, 25. Ben Ronke, 31. Harrison Marsh

Inter: 6. Jordan Foote 11. Jeremy Laidler 27. Daniel Robinson 34. Jordan Dawson

Emer: 54. Jared Deep 52. Harrison Carr

In: 55. Jared Osborne 49. Jack Hardman 48. Sam Wicks

Out: 46. Sam Murray (injured) 56. Jack Buckley 53. Sam Barkley 60. Liam Maze (all omitted)



Date: Saturday, 12 August 2017

Time: 12pm

Venue: UNSW Canberra Oval

Entry: Free

Watch: Not Streaming Live

Live StatsChampion Data stats available on the Official NEAFL App


B: 21. Matt Vardanega 29. Ben Halse 35. Tom Highmore

HB: 36. Lucas Meline 60. Rohan McLachlan 6. Kade Klemke

C: 5. Nick Collins 17. Jordan Harper 25. Sam Martyn

HF: 12. Luke McKay 3. Andrew Swan 16. Mitch Hardie

F: 4. Aaron Bruce 11. Jacob Turner 23. Ben Fulford

Foll: 42. Cameron Milne 8. Mitch Maguire 1. Isaac Taylor

Inter: 33. Lachlan Harper 24. Alex Smout 40. Rhys Pollock 46. Jack Powell* 10. Reed Stevens

Emer: 19. Max Richardson 37. Maxwell Beaumont 27. Lachlan Maples

In: 35. Tom Highmore 60. Rohan McLachlan 40. Rhys Pollock

Out: 9. Nick Pleming (injured), 19. Max Richardson (omitted) 13. Tom Faul (injured)


B: 2. Xavier Richards 38. Darcy Baron-Hay* 35. Ryan Hebron

HB: 18. Jack Dimery 24. Tim Barton 26. Will Sierakowski

C: 3. Tom Ayton 42. James Brain 1. Jack Hiscox

HF: 4. Austin Lucy 12. Aaron Day 40. Matt Wilson

F: 28. Michael Manteit 9. Jacob Derickx 8. Damien Bonney

Foll: 22. Sam Tagliabue 5. Zac O’Brien 15. Tom Young

Inter: 17. Jackson Potter 10. Mitch Thompson 23. Kane Murphy 46. James Loneragan* 31. Lachlan Kilpatrick

Emer: 13. Jordan Law

In: 17. Jackson Potter 31. Lachlan Kilpatrick 23. Kane Murphy

Out: 16. Alistair Gillespie (injured) 43. Jonathan Williams (injured) 14. Monty Krochmal (omitted)