TEAM TALK: NEAFL Round 11 & Rep teams


With the rest of the NEAFL competition given the bye for the Representative weekend, Round 11 features just one game involving NSW/ACT teams.

The Sydney Swans and GWS GIANTS will play in an important contest for both sides, with some big-name inclusions which are sure to make for a thrilling encounter.

The Sydney Swans will be looking to get back to the top of the ladder after Sydney University took top spot last week.

Kurt Tippett leads a list of big inclusions for the Swans and will be hoping to bounce back into form.

He is joined on a star-studded bench by Gary Rohan, who was a late withdrawal from last night’s match against the Bulldogs with illness. He was replaced by Harrison Marsh who drops out of the team as a result.

Young-gun, Oliver Florent also returns to the NEAFL and will be eager to put in another big performance.

Likewise, the GWS GIANTS welcome back a number of players as they look to make up for a disappointing performance against Redland last game.

The GIANTS have made 13 changes from their Round 10 match in an attempt to kick-start their season. Steve Johnson, Tim Taranto and Harry Himmelberg have all been listed on an extended bench, but are expected to be named in their senior squad.

Tendai Mzungu is again named at Ruck Rover after a great match last weekend against Redland. He will be wanting to put in a strong performance against an impressive Swans outfit to further stake his claim for selection in the senior side.


Match Day Information

Match: Sydney Swans vs. GWS GIANTS

Date: Saturday, 10 June 2017

Time: 11.00am

Venue: Blacktown International Sportspark

Entry: Free

Watch: Not streamed live.

Live Stats: Champion Data stats available on the Official NEAFL App



B: 46. Sam Murray 21. Jack Maibaum 51. Jarrod Osborne

HB: 30. Tyrone Leonardis 32. Michael Talia 38. Colin O’Riordan

C: 19. Shaun Edwards 11. Jeremy Laidler 55. Harrison Carr

HF: 1. James Rose 35. Jordan Dawson 45. Sam Fisher

F: 25. Ben Ronke 47. Toby Pink 33. Brandon Jack

Foll: 17. Darcy Cameron 42. Robbie Fox 6. Jordan Foote

Inter: 13. Oliver Florent 36. Aliir Aliir 16. Gary Rohan 8. Kurt Tippett 53. Sam Wicks

Emer: N/A

In: 13. Oliver Florent 25. Ben Ronke 8. Kurt Tippett 51. Jarrod Osborne 55. Harrison Carr 16. Gary Rohan

Out: 53. Sam Barkley 49. Will Gowers 58. Hamish MacDonald 60. Liam Maze 31. Harrison Marsh


B: 42. Jake Stein 39. Tim Mohr 49. Rhys Pollock

HB: 46. Dylan Addison 33. Luke McKay 51. Jacob Conlan

C: 45. Laine Fitzgerald 28. Zach Sproule 54. Jeremy Bridger

HF: 55. Daniel Johnston 48. Donald Roberts 32. Kyle Devlin

F: 44. Will Clark 52. Ben McGinness 53. Reed Stevens

Foll: 30. Matt Flynn 13. Isaac Cumming 25. Tendai Mzungu

Inter: 38. Daniel Lloyd 36. Harry Perryman 14. Tim Taranto 27. Harry Himmelberg 17. Steve Johnson 31. Jeremy Finlayson 26. Dawson Simpson

Emer: 40. Tyh Evans 47. Matthew Edwards 50. Logan Gray

In: 33. Luke McKay 45. Laine Fitzgerald 46. Dylan Addison 48. Donald Roberts 49. Rhys Pollock 53. Reed Stevens 54. Jeremy Bridger 55. Daniel Johnston 38. Daniel Lloyd 14. Tim Taranto 27. Harry Himmelberg 17. Steve Johnson 36. Harry Perryman

Out: 45. Lachlan Tanner 48. Daniel Foley 56. Nathan Coxall 49. James Peatling 51. Nick Shipley 54. Luke Cuthbert 53. Bailey McParland 47. Daniel Cerni 55. Kieren Briggs 33. Lachlan Tiziani



A 23-man squad made up of some of the best players from the NEAFL will travel to Hobart to take on the Tasmanian Super League on Saturday.

The squad features eight former AFL-listed players and most impressively, 12 players from AFL NSW/ACT. Sydney University have nine players selected, and the Canberra Demons have three.

Xavier Richards and Jack Hiscox are two of the big name Students who have made the team, rewarded for strong seasons so far with selection. They will add experience to a team mixed with a lot of promising young players from around the NEAFL.

The Demons’ early season form has also been recognised, with the consistent Jordan Harper named in the side along with Sam Martyn and Andrew Swan.


Match Day Information

Match: NEAFL Representative Team vs. Tasmanian Super League

Date: Saturday, 10 June 2017

Time: 2.00pm

Venue: Blundstone Arena, Hobart

Entry: Free

Watch: Live Streamed on NEAFL TV



B: Darcy Baron-Hay (Sydney Uni) Tim Barton (Sydney Uni) Seb Tape (Southport)

HB: Hayden Bertoli-Simmonds (Redland) Gavin Grose (Aspley) Reece Toye (Aspley)

C: Andrew Boston (Southport) Jordan Harper (Canberra) Sam Martyn (Canberra)

HF: Ryan Hebron (Sydney Uni) James Nelis (Aspley) Jack Hiscox (Sydney Uni)

F: Jack Anthony (Southport) Xavier Richards (Sydney Uni) Ned Reinhard (Sydney Uni)

Foll: Sam Michael (Redland) Jordan Keras (Southport) Abraham Ankers (NT Thunder)

Inter: Nathan Cooper (Sydney Uni) Daniel Joseph (Aspley) Tim Barrett (Sydney Uni) Damien Bonney (Sydney Uni) Andrew Swan (Canberra)

Emer: Mitch Maguire (Canberra) Callum McFadden (Sydney Uni)