TEAM TALK: NEAFL Finals Week One

This weekend marks the first round of the NEAFL Finals for 2017 with two elimination finals taking place on Saturday afternoon.

The first will see the Gold Coast Suns take on the NT Thunder at Metricon Stadium. The second, and more importantly for AFL NSW/ACT fans, will see Sydney University host the Aspley Hornets at Blacktown International Sportspark.

The Students have had a very strong season to date, finishing the home-and-away season in third.

With their finals position all but sewn up before last weekend, University had the luxury of resting a number of their key players before this week’s elimination final.

They welcome back forward Jacob Derickx, ruckman Sam Tagliabue, and defenders Will Sierakowski and Tim Barton for the clash. All four players have been in great form in 2017, and will be raring to go after getting the chance to refresh last weekend.

Dropping out of the side are Kane Murphy, Jackson Potter, Lachlan Kilpatrick and Mitch Mahady who have all been omitted.

This is do or die football for the Students, and they will have to leave everything on the line if they want to make it through to the Semi-Finals next weekend.



Sydney University vs. Aspley Hornets

Date: Saturday, 26 August 2017

Time: 1pm

VenueBlacktown International Sportspark

Entry: Free Entry

Watch: Streaming live on NEAFL TV

Live StatsChampion Data stats available on the Official NEAFL App


B: 2. Xavier Richards 33. Nathan Cooper 35. Ryan Hebron

HB: 24. Tim Barton 44. Tom Derickx 26. Will Sierakowski

C: 43. Jonathan Williams 42. James Brain 21. Lewis Stevenson

HF: 1. Jack Hixcox 4. Austin Lucy 40. Matt Wilson

F: 28. Michael Manteit 9. Jacob Derickx 10. Mitch Thompson

Foll: 22. Sam Tagliabue, 5. Zac O’Brien, 15. Tom Young

Inter: 16. Alistair Gillespie 8. Damien Bonney 18. Jack Dimery 3. Tom Ayton 46. James Loneragan

Emer: 34. Ned Reinhard 31. Lachlan Kilptarick 23. Kane Murphy

In: 9. Jacob Derickx 22. Sam Tagliabue 24. Tim Barton 26. Will Sierakowski

Out: 23. Kane Murphy 17. Jackson Potter 31. Lachlan Kilpatrick 37. Mitch Mahady (all omitted)