Sydney Swans flock to junior footy clubs

The Sydney Swans are visiting all junior footy clubs in the Sydney Harbour region tomorrow night (Thursday March 17) and they’re encouraging kids, friends and parents to come and try AFL.

The players will sign autographs, pose for selfies and hand out a few tips.

They’ll also man the barbecue across all the venues to make sure you don’t go hungry.

Lance Franklin and Tom Derickx are sure to draw a big crowd of youngsters at Gwawley Oval in Taren Point as the tall duo swing past Cronulla JAFC at 5pm.

Callum Mills is heading back to an old stomping ground north of the bridge as he heads to North Narrabeen Reserve on the Northern Beaches to say g’day to an old rival, the Pittwater Tigers.

The Tigers are joining forces with the Forest Lions this year in the U18 Youth Girls and they’re urging as many female junior footy players as possible attend the special training night.

The session starts at 5:30pm and offers a great opportunity to see what the fuss is all about.

It’s a great chance to meet some of your AFL heroes before the season starts, so make sure you head down to your local footy club.

Here’s where you can catch the Swans tomorrow night (March 17):

Sydney North (all start times 5:30pm):

Forest Lions @ Lionel Watts Park

Lane Cove Cats @ Burns Bay Reserve

Willoughby Wildcats @ Gore Hill Oval

Manly Bombers @ John Fisher Netball Courts

Pittwater Tigers @ North Narrabeen Reserve

St Ives Saints @ Acron Oval

Westbrook Bulldogs @ Greenway Oval

Pennant Hills Demons @ Ern Holmes Oval

North Ryde Dockers @ ELS Hall Park

Hornsby Berowra Eagles @ Rofe Park

Balgowlah Suns @ Balgowlah Oval


Sydney City (all start times 5:30pm):

Glebe Greyhounds @ Jubilee Oval

Maroubra Saints @ Heffron Oval

Moore Park Tigers @ Bat And Ball Oval *4pm start time*

Newtown Swans @ Alan Davidson Oval

Concord Giants @ Queen Elizabeth Park

Drummoyne Power @ Taplin Park

Wests Magpies @ Wagner Oval


Sydney South (all start times 5:00pm):

Bangor JAFL @ Barden Ridge Oval

Cronulla JAFL @ Gwawley Oval

Heathcote JAFL @ Heathcote Oval

Miranda JAFL @ Waratah Oval #4 (Lincoln Oval)

Penshurt JAFL @ Olds Park

Ramsgate JAFL @ Tonbridge Oval

For more information about your nearest club, head to the AFL NSW/ACT website and it’s not too late to register at