Phelan Medal: 2015 review

Monday night saw AFL Sydney celebrate the outstanding individual performers across the home-and-away season at the 2015 Phelan Medal Presentation Dinner.

Hosted at Darling Island Wharf’s stunning Doltone House the event also recognised several individuals for their contribution to the Sydney football community.

Manly-Warringah’s Connor Pettersson took out the night’s main prize while Macquarie University’s Amanda Farrugia claimed the Mostyn Medal for the AFL Sydney Women’s Division One Best & Fairest.

Other notable award winners were Barbara Dickin and Frank Kalayzich who received AFL Sydney life membership for their contributions to the competition.

Comedian Cam Knight was MC for the evening with special guests including MP Pru Goward, GIANTS’ co-captain Phil Davis and COO Richard Griffiths, as well as entertainment by Cat Vas.

Catch up on the whole event here:


See below for a full list of award winners:

Men’s Best and Fairest Awards

Premier Division Phelan Medal – Connor Pettersson (Manly-Warringah)

Click InFocus


Division One Snow Medal – Hugh Priest (Balmain)

Click InFocus


Division Two Sanders Medal – Ben Mayer (Penrith)

Division Three McFarlane Medal – Riordan Lee (Sydney University)

Division Four Armstrong Medal – Peni Mahina (Campbelltown)

Division Five Apted Medal – Jake Reid (UNSW/ES)

Click InFocus


Under 19’s Division One Kealy Medal – Luke De Vries (Pennant Hills)

Under 19’s Division Two Hart Medal – Thomas Kannan (Wests), Martin Faulkner (Moorebank), Reece Morris (Holroyd-Parramatta), Mitchell Sapiatzer (Holroyd-Parramatta)

Click InFocus


Women’s Best and Fairest Awards

Division One Mostyn Medal – Amanda Farrugia (Macquarie University)

Click InFocus


Division Two James Medal – Nikki Perrett (Penrith) and Tess Mutton (Gosford)


AFL Sydney Men’s Rising Star – Eli Prescott (St. George)

Click InFocus


AFL Sydney Women’s Rising Star – Nicola Barr (Sydney University)


Other Awards

Howarth Trophy Representative Player of the Year – Andrew McConnell

Mark of the Year – Harrison Koch (Manly-Warringah)

Goal of the Year – Lael Kassem (Western Wolves)

Click InFocus


2015 AFL Sydney Life Membership Inductee – Barbara Dickin

Click InFocus


2015 AFL Sydney Life Membership Inductee – Frank Kalayzich

Click InFocus


2015 AFL Player’s Hall of Fame Inductee – Albert Herbert Ellis

AFL Merit Award – Geoff Pridgeon

Umpire of the year – Carl Fletcher

Click InFocus


AFL Sydney Volunteer of the Year – Warren Back (Camden)

Club Champion – Pennant Hills