NAB AFL Women’s State of Origin Squads confirmed

The AFL has confirmed the squads to play in the 2017 NAB AFL Women’s State of Origin match.

Sydney bred AFL NSW/ACT Female Football Ambassador, Erin McKinnon will join her GWS GIANTS teammate, Penrith’s Renee Tomkins in the Allies squad. They have been selected to play alongside GWS GIANTS Marquee Player, Emma Swanson who hails from Western Australia.

Other GWS GIANTS AFL Women’s players selected in the Victorian team include Jess Dal Pos and 2018 GIANT, Alicia Eva.

The Allies will take on Victoria during the Celebration of Football Week at 7.40pm on Saturday, 2 September 2017 at Etihad Stadium.

Additions for Victoria are Lauren Pearce from Melbourne, Lauren Arnell and Sarah Hosking from Carlton, Steph Chiocci, Jasmine Garner and Jaimee Lambert from Collingwood. Unfortunately Darcy Vescio, Jess Duffy, Danielle Hardiman and Sarah D’Arcy are unavailable due to injury concerns.

Additions for the Allies include Katie Brennan from Western Bulldogs, Bianca Jakobsson from Melbourne, and Stevie Lee Thompson from Adelaide. Erin Phillips is unavailable due to her WNBA commitments in the USA.

The AFL has also confirmed the State of Origin match will also include NAB Supergoals – nine-point goals that will be awarded to goals kicked outside 40 meters.

AFL Head of Female Football, Josh Vanderloo said the addition of the NAB Supergoals will be a highlight of the night.

“The State of Origin match provides a great opportunity for us to be creative about how we showcase the best female players in the country,” he said.

“I look forward to watching forwards such as Tayla Harris and Sarah Perkins kicking for the big nine-pointers.”

The NAB AFL Women’s State of Origin match will be broadcast live nationally on the Seven Network and FOXTEL/FOX FOOTY. Entry to the match will be free of charge.

The State of Origin squads were initially based on the 2017 Virgin Australia AFL Women’s All Australian squad. Selection is based on where a player is born, not which state they are currently playing in.

An Under 18 State of Origin match will be played as a curtain-raiser featuring players in the All Australian squad. The NAB AFL Women’s Under-18 All Australian team will be announced after the match.


NAB AFL Women’s State of Origin squads


Sarah Perkins            Adelaide

Kaitlyn Ashmore       Brisbane

Lauren Arnell            Carlton

Brianna Davey           Carlton

Alison Downie           Carlton

Sarah Hosking           Carlton

Nicola Stevens           Carlton

Steph Chiocci            Collingwood

Jasmine Garner         Collingwood

Jamiee Lambert        Collingwood

Kara Donnellan         Fremantle

Jess Dal Pos               GWS

Alicia Eva                    GWS

Karen Paxman           Melbourne

Daisy Pearce              Melbourne

Lauren Pearce           Melbourne

Melissa Hickey           Melbourne

Lily Mithen                 Melbourne

Jasmine Grierson      Melbourne

Ellie Blackburn         Western Bulldogs

Emma Kearney         Western Bulldogs

Hannah Scott            Western Bulldogs


Chelsea Randall                       Adelaide

Ebony Marinoff                        Adelaide

Courtney Cramey                    Adelaide

Stevie-Lee Thompson             Adelaide

Sabrina Frederick-Traub        Brisbane

Emily Bates                              Brisbane

Emma Zielke                            Brisbane

Jess Wuetschner                     Brisbane

Kate McCarthy                        Brisbane

Leah Kaslar                             Brisbane

Sam Virgo                               Brisbane

Tayla Harris                           Carlton

Emma King                            Collingwood

Ebony Antonio                      Fremantle

Kirby Bentley                         Fremantle

Dana Hooker                         Fremantle

Erin McKinnon                      GWS

Emma Swanson                    GWS

Renee Tomkins                     GWS

Elise O’Dea                             Melbourne

Bianca Jakobsson                  Melbourne

Katie Brennan                        Western Bulldogs