NAB AFL U18 Academy Series and NEAFL teams

Photo taken by Matt Corby.



Round 5 of the NAB AFL Under 18s Academy Series marks the end of the competition and makes way for the Under 18 National Championships starting in June.

The Allies – a team comprising of NSW/ACT, Tasmanian, Queensland, and Northern Territory players – will be selected following the NAB AFL U18 Academy Series, and will take on Under 18s state squads from across the country during the National Championships.

Before selection is made, the final round of the NAB AFL Under 18s Academy Series plays out this weekend, with two interstate matches taking place for the Sydney Swans and GWS GIANTS Academies.

The Sydney Swans Academy will play Tasmania in Launceston to seal an undefeated season. Tasmania will be looking to cap off their series with a win to go 3-2 on their win-loss record.

The GWS GIANTS Academy will also travel interstate, taking on Brisbane on the Gold Coast. After a slow start to the series, the GIANTS will be hoping to make it three on-the-trot to round out their season.

Like Tasmania, Brisbane have had an inconsistent series, having won just two of its four matches so far.



Tasmania vs. Sydney Swans Academy

Date: Saturday, 6 May 2017

Time: 10.00am

Venue: UTAS Stadium, Launceston

Entry: FREE


B: 2. Dylan Smith, 26. Joey Reinhard, 14. Patrick Tegg

HB: 10. Jeremy Shumack, 27. Luke Robertson, 20. Connor Flanagan

C: 11. Jarrod Osborne, 9. Bailey Stewart, 7. James Bell

HF: 16. Josh Stern, 3. Harrison Carr, 13. Jack Hardman

F: 25. Adam Kinasch, 24. Mitchell Rogers, 15. Evan Kaporis

Foll: 30. Liam Maze, 19. Luke Skrivanic, 18. Samuel Wicks

Inter: 28. Christian Loone, 17. Cooper Kilpatrick, 23. Angus Rankin, 8. Brandon Norton, 6. Kyle McKellar

Brisbane Lions Academy vs. GWS GIANTS Academy

Date: Saturday, 6 May 2017

Time: 12.30pm

Venue: Broadbeach, Gold Coast

Entry: FREE


B: Jacob Conlan, Ben Kelly, Daniel Cerni

HB: Daniel Foley, James Peatling, Matthew Walker

C: Nicholas Shipley, Brendan Myers, Rhys Pollock

HF: Max Beaumont, Kieren Briggs, Reed Stevens

F: Laine Fitzgerald, Riley Corbett, Shaun Driscoll

Foll: Nathan Richards, Jack Powell, Jake Gaynor

Inter: Luke Cuthbert, Tyh Evans, Tom Highmore, Ben McGuinness, Riley Budd, Tyler McInness, Jai Reed



The NAB AFL U16s Academy Series will return next week with the Sydney Swans Academy playing the GWS GIANTS Academy in Blacktown.



The undefeated Sydney University will take a well-earned break with the bye this weekend, however three AFL NSW/ACT based NEAFL squads remain in action.

The Sydney Swans will play at their spiritual home of the SCG in a curtain raiser event to the Saturday afternoon AFL match between the Sydney Swans and the Brisbane Lions.

Taking on the Brisbane Lions NEAFL side, the Swans will be looking to consolidate their historic first ever win in Darwin last week. The Lions will however, provide stiff competition, having yet t to lose a match this year.

The GWS GIANTS will be hoping their break over Round 5 last week will have injected their 2016 NEAFL Premiership winning spirit back into their game.

They will head to Queensland to play the Gold Coast Suns who have, so far, been unsteady in their execution, taking only two wins in 2017.

Canberra will face the tough task of the NT Thunder in Darwin on Saturday evening, but will hope to be refreshed after sitting out the bye last weekend.

The Demons and the Thunder sit equal – in points – on the NEAFL ladder though the Thunder’s percentage sees them at fourth versus Canberra’s seventh placing.



Sydney Swans vs. Brisbane Lions

Date: Saturday, 6 May 2017

Time: 9.30am

Venue: Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney

Entry: With your ticket to Sydney Swans vs. Brisbane Lions

Watch: Live on NEAFL TV

Live stats: Champion Data stats available on the Official NEAFL App


B: 46. Sam Murray 21. Jack Maibaum 56. Cooper Lee
HB: 30. Tyrone Leonardis 32. Michael Talia 38. Colin O’Riordan
C: 34. Jordan Dawson 50. Jake Brown 53. Sam Barkley
HF: 1. James Rose 47. Toby Pink 45. Sam Fisher
F: 8. Kurt Tippett 58. Hamish MacDonald 33. Brandon Jack
Foll: 17. Darcy Cameron 49. Will Gowers 42. Robbie Fox
Inter: 13. Oliver Florent 36. Aliir Aliir 6. Jordan Foote 28. Nic Newman 3. Jarrad McVeigh 18. Callum Sinclair 22. Dean Towers
Emer: 59. Joe Stapleton 54. Max Lower 55. Jack Mapleson 57. Sean Harlen 51. Lachlan Kirk
In: 28. Nic Newman 1. James Rose 8. Kurt Tippett 3. Jarrad McVeigh 18. Callum Sinclair 6. Jordan Foote 33. Brandon Jack 42. Robbie Fox 32. Michael Talia 50. Jake Brown
Out: 19. Shaun Edwards 52. Harry Carr 59. Joe Stapleton 55. Jack Mapleson 54. Max Lower 51. Dylan Smith 57. Sean Harlen

Gold Coast Suns vs. GWS GIANTS           

Date: Saturday, 6 May 2017

Time: 3.45pm

Venue: Metricon Stadium, Gold Coast

Entry: FREE

Watch: Match not being streamed live

Live stats: Champion Data stats available on the Official NEAFL App


B: 42. Jake Stein 31. Jeremy Finlayson 53. Bailey McParland
HB: 36. Harry Perryman 39. Tim Mohr 54. Matt Edwards
C: 28. Zach Sproule 52. Will Clark 51. Tyler McInnes
HF: 33. Lachlan Tiziani 30. Matt Flynn 55. Alex Paech
F: 48. Ben Jamieson 47. Jai Reed 49. Nathan Coxall
Foll: 26. Dawson Simpson 13. Isaac Cumming 24. Matt de Boer
Inter: 38. Daniel Lloyd 44. Lachlan Tanner 45. Daniel Saywell 46. Dylan Addison
Emer: Jeremy Bridger
In: 44. Lachlan Tanner 45. Daniel Saywell 47. Jai Reed 48. Ben Jamieson 51. Tyler McInnes 52. Will Clark 53. Bailey McParland 54. Matt Edwards 55. Alex Paech 49. Nathan Coxall
Out: 44. Jacob Conlan 45. Jake Gaynor 47. Nathan Richards 48. Ben McGuinness 49. Jack Powell 51. Nick Shipley 52. Tom Highmore 53. James Peatling 54. Luke Cuthbert 55. Kieren Briggs 56. Reed Stevens

NT Thunder vs. Canberra Demons

Date: Saturday, 6 May 2017

Time: 6.30pm

Venue: TIO Stadium, Darwin

Entry: FREE

Watch: Live on NEAFL TV

Live stats: Champion Data stats available on the Official NEAFL App


B: 21. Matt Vardanega* 29. Ben Halse 12. Luke McKay
HB: 5. Nick Collins 15. Jack Baker 6. Kade Klemke
C: 27. Lachlan Maples 3. Andrew Swan 32. Christian Palombi
HF: 4. Aaron Bruce 36. Lucas Meline 16. Mitch Hardie
F: 9. Nick Pleming 2. Josh Bennett 23. Ben Fulford
Foll: 42. Cameron Milne 17. Jordan Harper 25. Sam Martyn
Inter: 1. Isaac Taylor 22. Billy Muir 8. Mitch Maguire 11. Jacob Turner 13. Tom Faul
Emer: 44. Zackary Derksen
In: 2. Josh Bennett 11. Jacob Turner 32. Christian Palombi 22. Billy Muir
Out: 28. Sam De Sousa 40. Rhys Pollock 39. Joseph Tegart 38. Riley Budd