Green and Delahunty to fly the flag on MCG

GIANTS Academy pairing, Liam Delahunty (Coolamon) and Tom Green (Canberra) will play in the NAB AFL Australian Under-18 team to take on the VFL’s Casey Demons in the annual AFL Commission Chairman’s Cup this Saturday, April 20 at the MCG.

The match will be broadcast live on FOX FOOTY from 11:00am AEST with first bounce at 11:05am AEST. Fans can also watch the game live via the AFL App.

Last year the NAB AFL Australian Under-18 team defeated North Melbourne’s VFL team by a resounding 42-points. The top 10 players selected at the 2018 NAB AFL Draft played in the game including, Nick Blakey (Sydney Swans), Sam Walsh (Carlton), Jack Lukosius (Gold Coast Suns), Tarryn Thomas (North Melbourne), Chayce Jones (Adelaide), Bailey Smith (Western Bulldogs) and Connor Rozee (Port Adelaide).

Players from both sides deemed best on ground will receive the MCC Chairman Medals from MCC president Michael Happell. Previous Under-18 winners include Angus Brayshaw (Melbourne), Lachie Whitfield (GWS Giants), Tom Boyd (Western Bulldogs) and Cameron Raynor (Brisbane Lions).

AFL Talent Ambassador Kevin Sheehan said, “The match between the NAB AFL Australian Under-18 team and Casey Demons will give recruiters the first chance to see the best young prospects in the country against AFL listed opponents. It is one of the earliest indicators of the level of talent for the 2019 NAB AFL Draft.”

AFL Head of Talent Tristan Salter said the new approach to the NAB National Academy, which is focused on greater access to AFL facilities, the best quality coaching and improved wellbeing services would help the country’s best young talent prepare for the upcoming match.

“I am excited to be able to see some of the country’s best young talent take on the Casey Demons having watched their development closely over the last 12 months,’ Mr Salter said.

“Saturday’s match is a fantastic opportunity for the most talented NAB National Academy members to represent Australia and play on the biggest stage, the MCG.”

The best 26 players from the NAB AFL Academy make up the NAB AFL Australian Under-18 team.

NAB AFL Australian Under-18 squad

Liam Delahunty           NSW/ACT                   GWS Giants Academy
Tom Green                  NSW/ACT                   GWS Giants Academy
Malcolm Rosas Jnr     Northern Territory        NT Academy
Will Martyn                  Queensland                 Brisbane Lions Academy
Will Gould                   South Australia           Glenelg
Jackson Mead             South Australia           Woodville West Torrens
Kysaiah Pickett           South Australia           Woodville West Torrens
Dylan Stephens          South Australia           Norwood
Mitch O’Neill               Tasmania                    Tasmania Academy
Lachlan Ash                Vic Country                 Murray Bushrangers
Sam Flanders              Vic Country                 Gippsland Power
Brodie Kemp               Vic Country                 Bendigo Pioneers
Caleb Serong              Vic Country                 Gippsland Power
Cooper Stephens        Vic Country                 Geelong Falcons
Hayden Young            Vic Country                 Dandenong Stingrays
Noah Anderson           Vic Metro                     Oakleigh Chargers
Trent Bianco               Vic Metro                     Oakleigh Chargers
Nick Bryan                  Vic Metro                     Oakleigh Chargers
Emerson Jeka             Vic Metro                     Western Jets
Fischer McAsey          Vic Metro                     Sandringham Dragons
Matt Rowell                 Vic Metro                     Oakleigh Chargers
Dylan Williams            Vic Metro                     Oakleigh Chargers
Joshua Worrell            Vic Metro                     Sandringham Dragons
Luke Jackson              West Australia             East Fremantle
Deven Robertson        West Australia             Perth
Jeremy Sharp             West Australia             East Fremantle

Keep up-to-date with all AFL NSW/ACT related news by following us on FacebookInstagram and Twitter