AFL NSW/ACT women set to star in State of Origin

The AFL is pleased to announce Debbie Lee and Bec Goddard will coach the Victorian and Allies teams in the NAB AFL Women’s State of Origin match during the Celebration of Football week.

The match between Victoria and the Allies will be played at 7.40pm on Saturday September 2 at Etihad Stadium.

The match will be broadcast live nationally on the Seven Network and FOXTEL/FOX FOOTY. Entry to the match will be free of charge.

Initial squads based on the 2017 Virgin Australia AFL Women’s All Australian squad have been released today with additional players to be announced at a later time. Selection is based on where a player is born, not which state they are currently playing in.

Players from AFL NSW/ACT who have been selected include GWS GIANTS, Erin McKinnon (Allies) and Renee Tomkins (Allies). Their 2017 GIANTS teammates, Emma Swanson (Allies), Jessica Dal Pos (Victoria) and GIANTS newcomer, Alicia Eva (Victoria) were also selected.

Other stars of the inaugural NAB AFL Women’s season set to play include the Adelaide Crows’ Chelsea Randall, Carlton’s Darcy Vescio and Melbourne’s Daisy Pearce.

Allies coach Bec Goddard – another AFL NSW/ACT export – said she was looking forward to putting the best team forward to compete against the Victorians.

“Coaching in South Australia, I understand how passionate South Australians are about their footy and nothing burns deeper than a fierce contest against Victoria,” Bec said.

“The match will be a great spectacle, it’s a great way to kick off September and showcase women’s football.”

An Under-18 State of Origin match will be played as a curtain-raiser featuring players in the All Australian squad. This will include AFL NSW/ACT players, Alyce ParkerJordyn Jolliffe, Haneen ZreikaGeorgia Breward and Ellie Delgarno-Fixter. The NAB AFL Women’s Under-18 All Australian team will be announced after the match.



Sarah Perkins Adelaide
Kaitlyn Ashmore Brisbane
Brianna Davey Carlton
Darcy Vescio Carlton
Alison Downie Carlton
Danielle Hardiman Carlton
Nicola Stevens Carlton
Sarah D’Arcy Collingwood
Jess Cameron Collingwood
Kara Donnellan Fremantle
Jess Dal Pos GWS
Alicia Eva GWS
Karen Paxman Melbourne
Daisy Pearce Melbourne
Melissa Hickey Melbourne
Lily Mithen Melbourne
Jasmine Grierson Melbourne
Ellie Blackburn Western Bulldogs
Emma Kearney Western Bulldogs
Hannah Scott Western Bulldogs
Chelsea Randall Adelaide
Erin Phillips Adelaide
Ebony Marinoff Adelaide
Courtney Cramey Adelaide
Sabrina Frederick-Traub Brisbane
Emily Bates Brisbane
Tayla Harris Carlton
Emma Zielke Brisbane
Jess Wuetschner Brisbane
Kate McCarthy Brisbane
Leah Kaslar Brisbane
Sam Virgo Brisbane
Emma King Collingwood
Ebony Antonio Fremantle
Kirby Bentley Fremantle
Dana Hooker Fremantle
Erin McKinnon GWS
Emma Swanson GWS
Renee Tomkins GWS
Elise O’Dea Melbourne