AFL NSW/ACT with seven finalists for NSW Sports Awards

Sport NSW recently announced the finalists for the 2016 NSW Sports Awards with AFL NSW/ACT having seven finalists in the running.


Team of the Year (National Professional Leagues) – GWS GIANTS

Official of the Year – Angus McKenzie-Wills

Administrator of the Year – Simon Smyth

Volunteer Director of the Year – Neil Dunn (AFL Tamworth)

Organisation of the Year – AFL NSW/ACT

Event of the Year – AFL Multicultural Festival

Distinguished Long Service Award – Merv Wegner


Now in its 22nd year, the prestigious NSW Sports Awards celebrate the finest achievements by NSW athletes, teams, coaches, administrators and organisations in 2016.

An all-embracing event, the NSW Sports Awards acknowledge the breadth of sporting activity and achievement across the state each year with categories for able-bodied and disabled athletes, young athletes and masters athletes. Awards are also presented for the best event of the year, official of the year and the all important distinguished long service awards for those that have given exceptional long-time service to their sport.

The awards are conducted by Sport NSW and Chief Executive Officer Darren Simpson said the ceremony in February is a unique opportunity to celebrate NSW sporting achievements of 2016.

The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony which will be held at Navarra Venue’s Curzon Hall in Marsfield on Thursday 23 February 2017. Tickets are now on sale for the dinner, with all details, including the full list of finalists, available on the Sport NSW website at