Sydney set to host big week of AFL action

Blacktown International Sportspark is in for a big week of AFL action, beginning on Saturday with the Under 18s and Under 16s NAB AFL Academy Series’ kicking off for the year.

Playing as a part of their Sydney Swans or GIANTS Academies, players from right across the AFL NSW/ACT region will come together to take on their interstate counterparts.

Beginning the weekend’s action will be the Under 16s Academies, who will contest in an internal match of the Sydney Swans Academy versus the GIANTS Academy. Playing on BISP Oval No. 2 at 10am, 47 players will compete in front of the watchful eyes of state selectors ahead of the national Championships to be held in June.

See the selected Under 16s Sydney Swans and GIANTS Academy squads here.

Following the Under 16s match, the 2018 NAB AFL Academy Series will get underway with the Sydney Swans Academy taking on the Brisbane Lions Academy at 12.30pm on BISP’s main oval.

Swans players to keep an eye out for includes the likes of up-and-comers, Nick Blakey, Jackson Barling and Joshua Rayner.


Backs  10. Connor Flanagan 35. Mitchell Rogers 27. Matthew Kannan
Half-Backs   9. Jacob Dol 38. Michael Carroll 40. Joshua Rayner
Centres  37. Harry Maguire 33. Kyle McKellar  3. Nicholas Blakey
Half-Forwards  20. Samuel Thorne 36. Joey Reinhard 23. Cooper Kilpatrick
Forwards  28. Jackson Barling 34. Rory Barkley 16. Joshua Stern
Followers 2.  Christian Loone  24. Samuel Wicks 11. Harry Parker
Interchange  1. Zachary Cameron 32. Luke Parks 25. Lachlan Swaney
   7. Oscar Bird 19. Isaac Bartholomaeus
   10. Connor Flanagan 35. Mitchell Rogers 27. Matthew Kannan
Emergencies 31. Noah Casalini


At 3pm, the GIANTS will play the Northern Territory with players such as Jack Powell, Nathan Richards, Kieren Briggs and NAB AFL Academy member, Matthew Walker all selected to play.

Backs 27. Guy Richardson 32. Jacob Koschitzke 2. Edward Perryman
Half-Backs 44. Daniel Cerni 29. Riley Budd 24. Nicholas Murray
Centres 13. Kobe Lloyd 8. Jack Rowston 28. Matthew McGrory
Half-Forwards 14. Shaun Driscoll 25. Tom Green 16. Riley Bice
Forwards 3. Will Chandler 31. Riley Corbett 10. James Peatling
Followers 34. Kieren Briggs 23. Mathew Walker 17. Jeromy Lucas
Interchange 4. Cameron Edwards 11. Jack Powell 45. William Clark
  21. Maxwell Beaumont 35. Nathan Richards 50. Ben Kelly
  30. Baylee Jones


Once Round One of the NAB AFL Academy Series has completed, the 2018 National Diversity Championships will begin on Sunday with the AFL NSW/ACT All Nations squad taking on Tasmania to open the tournament.

Keep up-to-date with all AFL NSW/ACT related news by following us on FacebookInstagram and Twitter.