Youth Girls squad announced ahead of upcoming series with Tasmania

The AFL NSW/ACT Youth Girls squad has been finalised ahead of the two upcoming matches with Tasmania.

Selected following talent camps held throughout the early part of 2018 and the recent Northern Academy Series in Coffs Harbour, the squad of 23 features players from right across the state and territory.

Female Football Talent Pathway Manager, Ash Moeller says he is excited by the team that has selected.

“With a highly equipped coaching panel of Alicia Eva (GWS GIANTS), Nicola Barr (GWS GIANTS) and Rachel Terlich guiding the side, we are very confident of strong showing against Tasmania,” says Moeller.

Thurgoona’s Alyce Parker has been named as one of Moeller’s players to watch following her young but strong AFL career to date. Parker has also been working with the the NAB AFL Women’s Academy this year, alongside Jordyn Jolliffe who will miss June’s matches through injury.

“Parker reads the game extremely well and will accumulate many possessions through the midfield.

“Georgia Breward from Grafton is another balanced midfielder with good foot skills, and the desire and ability to tackle strongly.

“Maclean’s Brianna McFarlane will also cause Tasmania some trouble. As a 176cm utility, McFarlane is a strong athlete and we can’t wait to see her powerful kick in action.”

1. Alyce Parker Thurgoona
5. Paris Crelley Leeton
6. Amy Dwyer Queanbeyan Tigers
7. Ahlani Eddy Coffs Harbour
10. Senna Gulden Maroubra Saints
12. Lillian Doyle Grafton Tigers
15. Brianna McFarlane Coolangatta
17. Eloise Ashley-Cooper Finley
24. Alexia Hamilton Belconnen Magpies
26. Georgia Garnett Kellyville-Rouse Hill
27. Georgia Breward Grafton Tigers
28. Melisa Keenan South Broken Hill
30. Angela Priftis Auburn Giants
34. Natasha McKay Belconnen Magpies
39. Chelsea Hargreaves Thurgoona
40. Eliza Cumming South Broken Hill
42. Matisse Coram-Parker Cardiff
43. Britt Walker Riverina Lions
50. Brenna Tarrant East Coast Eagles
53. Zoe Hurrell Willoughby-Mosman
55. Jemima Wrigley Southern Power
56. Alice Mitchell Pittwater Tigers
60. Brea Quinlivan Albury


The Round 1 match against Tasmania will be played on Friday,  June 1 at 7pm with the Round 2 match closely following on Sunday, June 3 at 10am – both matches will be held at Blacktown International Sportspark.

From these games against Tasmania, selection will be made for the Eastern Allies – a combined AFL NSW/ACT and Tasmania team – who will compete in the 2018 NAB AFL Women’s Under 18s Championships in July against the Central Allies (NT and SA combine), Victoria, Queensland and Western Australia.

Keep up-to-date with all AFL NSW/ACT related news by following us on FacebookInstagram and Twitter