After a break for the representative round, the NEAFL is back in full swing this weekend with three games involving NSW/ACT teams.

The red-hot Sydney Swans travel to Queensland to take on Aspley Hornets, with a couple of changes to last week’s side. After their dominant win against the GIANTS, the Swans regain the experienced pairing of Lewis Melican and Daniel Robinson.

Melican features in the NEAFL despite impressing in the Swans senior side for the last few weeks, and Robinson returns from a broken jaw sustained against Sydney University in Round 8.

Gary Rohan has been called back to the senior side, while Darcy Cameron is the other big change dropping out of the team with injury. This means that the Swans retain the likes of Kurt Tippett, Oliver Florent and Jordan Dawson who all had standout performances last week against the GIANTS.

Round 11 Rising Star Nominee, Sam Wicks also drops out of the side after kicking nine goals in his last four matches.

The second game sees Sydney University travel north to take on the Redland Bombers on Saturday afternoon. Coming off the bye, the Students keep a relatively unchanged side with only Will Sierakowski out this weekend.

Ryan Hebron will be looking to build on his strong form in the NEAFL representative side, taking his place in the back-pocket.. Likewise, Damien Bonney was also a stand-out against the Tasmanian State League, and will want to bring that form to Redland.

The final featured match sees the Canberra Demons host the NT Thunder in an important Saturday afternoon clash. The seventh-placed Demons are well positioned to jump back into the top six over a Thunder side which has struggled for form in recent weeks.

Jordan Harper was one of the names on everyone’s lips during the representative game, and will want to replicate that performance at home this weekend.

Nick Collins comes back into the side as a massive inclusion for the Demons, so too will Luke McKay who slots into the half-back line. Alex Smout is one of four players dropping out of the side.

The Demons will also be confident after defeating the Thunder in Darwin earlier this season.



Aspley Hornets vs. Sydney Swans

Date: Saturday, 17 June 2017

Time: 12pm

VenueSouth Pine Sports Complex

Entry: Free

Watch: Not streamed live

Live StatsChampion Data stats available on the Official NEAFL App



B: 46. Sam Murray 21. Jack Maibaum 51. Jarrod Osborne

HB: 30. Tyrone Leonardis 32. Michael Talia 38. Colin O’Riordan

C: 27. Daniel Robinson 11. Jeremy Laidler 55. Mitchell Rogers

HF: 1. James Rose 36. Aliir Aliir 45. Sam Fisher

F: 25. Ben Ronke 47. Toby Pink 33. Brandon Jack

Foll: 8. Kurt Tippett 42. Robbie Fox 6. Jordan Foote

Inter: 13. Oliver Florent 34. Jordan Dawson 19. Shaun Edwards 43. Lewis Melican

Emer: 50. Sam Wicks 53. Sam Barkley

In: 43. Lewis Melican 27. Daniel Robinson 55. Mitchell Rogers

Out: 17. Darcy Cameron 16. Gary Rohan 55. Harrison Carr 50. Sam Wicks


Redland Bombers vs. Sydney University

Date: Saturday, 17 June 2017

Time: 12pm

Venue: Tidbold Park

Entry: Free

Watch: Not streamed live

Live StatsChampion Data stats available on the Official NEAFL App



B: 33. Nathan Cooper 38. Darcy Baron-Hay 35. Ryan Hebron

HB: 24. Tim Barton 12. Aaron Day 18. Jack Dimery

C: 3. Tom Ayton 30. Callum McFadden 1. Jack Hiscox

HF: 8. Damien Bonney 7. Tim Barrett 17. Jackson Potter

F: 9. Jacob Derickx 2. Xavier Richards 28. Michael Manteit

Foll: 22. Sam Tagliabue 21. Lewis Stevenson 15. Tom Young

Inter: 34. Ned Reinhard* 13. Jordan Law 42. James Brain 31. Lachlan Kilpatrick 11. Nick Foster

Emer: 40. Matt Wilson 4. Austin Lucy 46. James Loneragan

In: 18. Jack Dimery

Out: 26. Will Sierakowski

Canberra Demons vs. NT Thunder

Date: Saturday, 17 June 2017

Time: 12pm

VenueUNSW Canberra Oval

Entry: Free

Watch: Streamed live on ThunderVision

Live Stats: Champion Data stats available on the Official NEAFL App



B: 14. Donald Roberts 29. Ben Halse 38. Riley Budd

HB: 35. Tom Highmore 36. Lucas Meline 13. Tom Faul

C: 5. Nick Collins 3. Andrew Swan 25. Sam Martyn

HF: 4. Aaron Bruce 11. Jacob Turner 23. Ben Fulford

F: 16. Mitch Hardie 2. Josh Bennett 8. Mitch Maguire

Foll: 42. Cameron Milne 17. Jordan Harper 9. Nick Pleming

Inter: 22. Billy Muir 40. Rhys Pollock 10. Reed Stevens* 1. Isaac Taylor 27. Lachlan Maples

Emer: 33. Lachlan Harper 24. Alex Smout 28. Sam De Sousa

In: 5. Nick Collins 27. Lachlan Maples 12. Luke McKay 22. Billy Muir

Out: 24. Alex Smout 28. Sam De Sousa 35. Thomas Highmore 46. Jack Powell