NEAFL umpiring squad named

The official 2011 umpiring squad for the new North East Australian Football League was confirmed on Thursday night.

With only two weeks until the season proper, the Eastern Conference squad includes the best umpires from NSW and the ACT to officiate in the new competition.

The squad also contains six AFL listed umpires which only increases the strength of the umpiring group.

The new NEAFL competition also provides four field umpires with the chance to officiate in Northern Conference games in Queensland.

NEAFL is a new competition that will see teams from AFL Canberra, AFL Queensland as well as the reserve sides of the Sydney Swans, GWS GIANTS, Brisbane Lions and Gold Coast Suns play in the one league. 

AFL NSW/ACT State Umpiring Manager Graham Glassford said NEAFL  provides a great chance for local umpires.

“This is really exciting times for umpiring in the NSW and the ACT,” Glassford said

“I think the new league will really help bridge the gap between the AFL and our previous competitions.

“The chance for our top field umpires to travel to other states and umpire other teams really increases their exposure and can only be a positive for the umpires coming through the ranks.

“All the umpires that made the squad should be congratulated for their hard work and dedication. I’m certain they will have a great season.”

The squad consists of seven Canberra field Umpires, eight boundary umpires (including two AFL listed umpires) and five goal umpires (including one AFL listed umpire). 

Sydney is represented by eight field umpires, six boundary umpires (including two AFL listed umpires) and three goal umpires (including one AFL listed umpire).

There will be a shirt presentation for the NEAFL Eastern Conference on Tuesday 5 April for umpires in Canberra and Thursday 7 April for umpires in Sydney.

Paul Barron, Sydney 
Dominic de Carvahlo, Canberra 
Danny Deigan, Sydney 
Matthew Eddy, Sydney 
Nathan Elsworthy, Sydney 
Matthew Gestier, Sydney 
Shaun Haidon, Canberra 
Tim Neville, Canberra 
Brent Pawley, Sydney 
Michael Peck, Sydney 
Andrew Rutherford, Sydney 
Travers Stemper, Canberra 
Glen Swan, Canberra 
Chris Thorburn, Canberra 
Gavin Whitehouse, Canberra 

Jayden Cordes, Sydney
Scott Gordon, Canberra
Scott Gurney, Canberra
Paul Harders, Canberra
Steve Hardy, Canberra
Brad Johnson, Canberra
Gordon MacArthur, Sydney
Luke McSpeerin, AFL listed
John Muir, Canberra
Sean Richardson, Sydney
Luke Roberts, AFL listed 
Michael Saunders, AFL listed 
Chris Simms, AFL listed 
Robert Taylor, Sydney 

Adam Gardner, Sydney 
Kate Griffiths, Canberra 
Anna Lashko, Sydney 
Angus McKenzie-Wills, Sydney 
Rose O’Dea, Canberra 
Dale Puren, Canberra 
James Savage, AFL listed 
Cedric Seveque, Canberra 
Sergio Villagra AFL, listed